Blair CompassBlair Compass Organization IntelligenceWho pays · Who decides · Who benefits · What remains unknown
Organization Evidence Review

American Medical Association

National physician membership association and 501(c)(6) professional organization

As of July 24, 2026United StatesFiscal year ended December 31, 2024Filed Form 990; not treated as an audited consolidated statementPrimary constituency: Physicians, residents, fellows, and medical students represented through state, specialty, and other recognized physician organizations and sections.

Path A · Quick read

One uniform surface for comparison; detailed evidence is below.

Core comparison profile

Three strongest findings

  1. Royalties supplied $301.44 million, or 55.18%, of FY2024 revenue; a secondary analysis estimates dues near 6%.
  2. Physicians formally govern policy through the House of Delegates and Board, while executives manage substantial publishing, licensing, insurance, and investment operations.
  3. Public records document hospitals, groups, plans, and technology firms as CPT or membership customer classes but do not disclose which class pays the most.

Evidence supporting reliance

  • Formal governance and current leaders are publicly documented.
  • Major accounting categories, related entities, and selected related-party transactions are disclosed.
  • Current advocacy substantially tracks Medicare payment, prior authorization, physician workforce, and patient-care priorities.

Reasons for caution

  • Royalty dependence is high and top CPT licensees or customer concentration are not disclosed.
  • Enterprise-sponsored membership makes personally paid physician dues impossible to isolate.
  • Insurance-agency economics, carrier concentration, and current subsidiary profitability are not fully public.

Material unknowns

  • Personally paid dues versus enterprise-sponsored dues.
  • Hospital, insurer, physician-group, and vendor shares of licensing and commercial revenue.
  • Top-one and top-three customer concentration across CPT and other major business lines.

Report card

The score summarizes assessed evidence; evidence coverage is reported separately.

Transparency
11/15
Funding independence
9/15
Mission alignment
16/20
Governance
12/15
Breadth
7/10
Accountability
8/10
Legal / ethical
8/10
Outcomes
4/5

Official accounting revenue mix

Official Form 990 accounting categories. The corrected sales-of-assets share is 12.79%; displayed rounded category shares sum to 99.99%, while exact amounts reconcile to 100%.

Royalties (55.2%)
$301.44M
Program services (16.0%)
$87.15M
Sales of assets (12.8%)
$69.84M
Contributions (6.8%)
$37.26M
Investment income (4.2%)
$22.85M
Net inventory sales (3.0%)
$16.62M
Other revenue (2.0%)
$11.08M
Accounting categoryAmountShare
Royalties$301.44M55.18%
Program services$87.15M15.95%
Sales of assets$69.84M12.79%
Contributions$37.26M6.82%
Investment income$22.85M4.18%
Net inventory sales$16.62M3.04%
Other revenue$11.08M2.03%
Total$546.24M100.00%
$546.24MFY2024 parent revenue
$301.44MRoyalties; 55.18% of revenue
$1.151BYear-end net assets

Payer and funding-source visibility

Minimum classified: 0.5%Not allocated by payer/source: 99.5%

Approximately $2.5 million of government grants is separately identifiable in the reviewed filing. Dues, CPT licensing, services, products, and insurance-related revenue are not publicly allocated across individual physicians, health systems, physician groups, insurers, vendors, or other customer classes.

Identity, alignment, and influence at a glance

Primary constituency: Physicians, residents, fellows, and medical students represented through state, specialty, and other recognized physician organizations and sections.

Physician alignment: Broad formal representation; practical support varies by specialty, practice setting, and participation.

Funding model: Predominantly non-dues commercial and licensing revenue; ultimate institutional payer mix is indeterminate.

Primary influence: House of Delegates and Board formally; executive management operationally; CPT/licensing customers financially as an aggregate ecosystem.

Executive summary

The American Medical Association is formally physician-governed through its House of Delegates, elected officers, and Board of Trustees, while executive management runs a large national policy, publishing, coding, insurance-agency, and commercial enterprise. FY2024 parent revenue was $546.24 million, led by $301.44 million in royalties. A secondary filing analysis estimates dues near $33 million, approximately 6%, so the evidence supports describing the AMA as predominantly non-dues and commercially financed. It does not support labeling the organization hospital-funded, insurer-funded, or vendor-controlled because public records do not allocate CPT and other commercial receipts across those overlapping customer classes. The provisional C grade reflects substantial mission-aligned activity and broad formal physician governance alongside material customer-concentration, payer-identity, and subsidiary-economics gaps.

One sentence: The AMA is physician-governed but predominantly financed through licensing and other non-dues operations, with the largest institutional payer classes and customer concentration undisclosed.

Path B · Detailed evidence review

Every organization uses the same twelve evidence sections and order.

1Identity, Mission, and ScopeFact pattern
Legal identityAmerican Medical Association; EIN 36-0727175; Illinois; 501(c)(6)
Founded1847
Stated missionPromote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health
Claimed constituencyPhysicians, residents, fellows and medical students
Self-reported membershipMore than 290,000 physician and medical-student members in 2024
Governance architectureHouse of Delegates → Board → executive management

Evidence-supported scope

The AMA Constitution states that individual members are represented in the House of Delegates through state and constituent associations, national medical specialty societies and other recognized entities. The House is the legislative and policy-making body. Current AMA materials report well over 600 voting delegates and representation from more than 190 state and specialty societies. [1] [20]

Supporting evidence

  • Formal constitution and bylaws.
  • All states and multiple specialties participate.
  • Eligibility spans physicians and trainees.

Contrary / limiting evidence

  • Total membership is self-reported.
  • Membership includes discounted and sponsored categories.
  • Representation is indirect through societies and sections.

Confidence

High for legal identity and formal structure; moderate for practical representativeness.

Key unknown

The public record reviewed does not show the number of eligible physicians, dues-paying physicians, voters or active participants by segment.

2Leadership and Decision AuthorityCurrent roles
LeaderCurrent roleStart / tenureBackground and authorityCompensation visibility
Willie Underwood III, MD, MSc, MPHPresidentSworn in June 9, 2026Urologic surgeon; elected physician spokesperson; previously Board chair.Current presidential compensation not yet public. FY2024 filing reported $219,915 in then-current Board-related compensation.
Toluwalasé “Lasé” A. Ajayi, MDChair, Board of Trustees2026–2027 Board yearPediatric and palliative medicine physician; leads governing Board.Current-year amount not yet public.
Sandra Adamson Fryhofer, MDPresident-electElected June 2026Internist; scheduled to become president in June 2027.Current-year amount not yet public.
John J. Whyte, MD, MPHCEO & Executive Vice PresidentAssumed role July 1, 2025Operational chief; prior executive roles at WebMD and public agencies.Current compensation not yet in a public Form 990. Predecessor James Madara’s FY2024 reportable compensation was $2.905M plus $157,013 other compensation.
Christina Loebach, MBASVP & Chief Financial OfficerMarch 2, 2026Oversees financial operations and planning.Not yet public; predecessor’s FY2024 reportable compensation was $1.055M plus $42,562 other compensation.
John Wigneswaran, MD, MBAChief Operating OfficerJune 1, 2026Oversees business operations, health solutions, IT, insurance, publishing and new ventures.Not yet public.
Pamela T. MoyGroup VP & General Manager, AMA Insurance AgencyCurrent as of June 1, 2026Operational lead for the wholly owned insurance subsidiary and its carrier/product relationships.Current compensation not separately public.
Andra HellerGeneral CounselCurrent as of June 1, 2026Legal and compliance leadership.FY2024 reportable compensation: $958,295 plus $58,539 other compensation.
Todd AskewSVP, AdvocacyCurrent as of June 1, 2026Leads advocacy function and federal/state policy execution.Current-year amount not yet public.

Who controls what?

Physician delegates

The House of Delegates sets AMA policy and elects officers and trustees. This is the strongest formal physician-control channel.

Board and executives

The Board has fiduciary and subsidiary oversight; the CEO and senior management make day-to-day staffing, financial, contracting and operating decisions.

Insurance carriers

Outside insurers control underwriting decisions, carrier contract terms, reserves and claim payment under their policies. The agency does not replace the carrier.

  • President: elected physician leader and public representative; not the day-to-day chief executive.
  • AMA Insurance Agency: operated by its general manager under parent Board/executive oversight; earns producer, commission and administrative compensation.
  • Insurance purchaser: receives contractual rights under the certificate or policy, but the reviewed public record shows no equity, profit-sharing, direct Board vote or agency-budget vote arising from a purchase.
  • Health-system member programs: create a second institutional channel by sponsoring physicians and offering credentialed policy-participation opportunities. That is documented access, not proof that a sponsor controls outcomes.
Important distinction: “physician-governed” describes formal policy and election authority. It does not mean individual physicians directly approve CPT contracts, insurance commissions, subsidiary budgets or carrier agreements.

Sources: [1] [2] [3] [21] [22] [23] [26] [35] [37]

3Financial SupportAccounting view
FY2024 revenue$546.24M
FY2024 expenses$426.57M
Surplus$119.67M · 21.9% margin
Net assets$1.151B
Largest categoryRoyalties · 55.2%
Estimated dues≈$33M · ≈6% · secondary

Is governance physician-led?

Yes, formally. Physician delegates set policy and elect the Board and officers; the Board and executives govern operations and subsidiaries.

Is financing physician-dues-led?

No. Even treating all estimated dues as physician support, about 94% of revenue is non-dues. The institutional payer split inside licensing and other operations is not public.

Concentration findings

  • Royalties increased from $284.8M in FY2023 to $301.4M in FY2024, approximately 5.8%.
  • The three largest official categories - royalties, program services and sales of assets - accounted for 83.9% of total revenue.
  • Sales-of-assets revenue was unusually high in FY2024 and should not be assumed to recur.
  • Published CPT terms identify hospitals, practices, health plans, laboratories, distributors and health-technology organizations as licensee classes, but do not show the dollars supplied by each class.
  • A rough dues estimate near $33M is useful only as a ceiling for membership-related support; the personally paid amount is lower and unknown because systems, groups and educational programs can sponsor membership.

Audit and freshness status

The latest detailed tax return reviewed covers the fiscal year ending December 2024 and was filed November 11, 2025. As of July 23, 2026, those figures are about 19 months behind the as-of date. ProPublica lists FY2024 and FY2025 federal single-audit documents, but this review did not obtain enough organization-wide detail from those files to replace the parent Form 990 analysis; the Form 990 is therefore treated as a self-reported IRS information return, not labeled as an audited consolidated statement. [5]

Interpretation: the evidence supports “commercial/institutional financing,” but not “hospital-controlled,” “insurer-controlled” or “physician-group-controlled.” Revenue dependence creates incentives; it does not by itself prove policy control or misconduct.

Sources: [5] [9] [19] [25] [27] [28] [29]

4Payer Identity and Unknown FundingPayer guardrail
Required answer:

The public record does not establish whether hospital-led organizations or physician/physician-led organizations supply more total money. It does establish that personally paid physician dues are not the dominant source, and that institutional and commercial payments dominate the revenue model.

Payer / supporter classTraceable amountWhat is documentedWhat remains unknown
Individual physicians≤≈$33M dues proxyIndividuals pay dues and buy products; a secondary filing analysis estimates total dues near 6% of revenue.Personally paid share after subtracting employer/group sponsorship; direct product and insurance purchases.
Hospitals / health systemsNot establishedHospitals are CPT licensee users; health systems sponsor AMA memberships and participate in a formal health-system program.Aggregate dues, license fees, sponsorships and share of royalties.
Physician groups / practicesNot establishedGroups and practices are documented customer/sponsor classes for licensing, services and insurance.Aggregate annual payments and whether physician-owned versus corporate-owned.
Insurers / health plansNot establishedAMA publishes health-plan CPT royalty rates; payer use of CPT is explicit.Actual receipts, top payer customers and share of the royalty stream.
Health technology / distributorsNot establishedDistributors and health-technology organizations require separate commercial licenses.Aggregate receipts and top vendor concentration.
Insurance carriers / partnersNot establishedCarriers underwrite AMA-sponsored products and pay the agency commission or other sale/renewal compensation.Current commission rates, premium volume, carrier concentration and agency profit.
Government≈$2.5M grantsFY2024 rendering separately identifies government grants, approximately 0.46% of revenue.Awarding agencies and indirect government-originating payments embedded in other categories.
Pharma / device companiesNot establishedParticipation in coding or commercial relationships may occur, but no parent-level class total was found.Aggregate payments, contracts and sponsorship concentration.

Why there is no payer pie chart

Official accounting categories are mutually exclusive, so they can be charted. Ultimate supporters are not: a health system can sponsor physician memberships, license CPT, buy publications and purchase services; a physician group may be owned by a hospital or insurer; and a technology vendor may pass license cost through to customers. AMA licensing pages establish eligible customer classes but not revenue shares. A payer pie would therefore manufacture precision the public data do not contain. [25] [26] [27] [28] [29]

Most material disclosure gap: an audited customer-concentration schedule separating CPT and other commercial revenue by hospitals/systems, physician groups, insurers, vendors, government and individual users would most change the conclusion.
5Related Organizations and Money FlowsEntity separation

AMA Insurance: ownership, cash flow and control

Owner

AMA Insurance Agency, Inc. is described by the AMA as a wholly owned subsidiary and is listed as an insurance brokerage/producer.

Risk bearer

Outside insurance carriers underwrite major products, approve applicants, set policy terms and pay claims. The parent AMA is not presented as the carrier for those products.

Revenue mechanism

The agency receives commissions and sale/renewal compensation for certain products and provides oversight or administration; the parent can receive reimbursement and other intercompany value.

Schedule R transactionAmount involvedEvidence-supported meaningWhat it does not prove
Q - reimbursement paid by related organization for expenses$3,784,629AMA Insurance Agency reimbursed parent-incurred expenses associated with the relationship.Not premium volume, commission revenue or profit.
A - interest, annuities, royalties or rent from controlled entity$579,748Controlled-entity receipts in a combined IRS category.Does not identify which subcategory or the underlying contract.
L - services, membership or fundraising work for related organization$782,404Reportable value connected with services the parent performed for the agency.Not necessarily cash received and not a net-profit measure.
Total reportable transaction value$5,146,781Sum of three Schedule R “amount involved” entries.Must not be labeled total insurance income, premiums, dividends or agency earnings.

Under IRS instructions, “amount involved” is generally the fair market value provided or received, whichever is higher. It is not automatically a net cash-flow or profit figure.

What happens when a physician buys an AMA-sponsored policy?

  1. The physician applies for a carrier-issued policy or certificate. AMA membership is not required for at least the current Level Term Life program, although members may receive discounts.
  2. The outside carrier performs underwriting and assumes the contractual insurance risk. New York Life is the disclosed underwriter for current AMA-sponsored life and disability products.
  3. AMA Insurance Agency markets, arranges and supports the program as a licensed producer; official disclosures say it is paid a commission.
  4. The parent AMA owns the agency and its Board/executives oversee the subsidiary. Parent and subsidiary exchange reimbursed expenses and services as reported on Schedule R.
  5. For at least some group products, a federal court record identifies the AMA Group Insurance Trust as the group policyholder. Individual insured physicians are certificate holders; no public evidence reviewed shows that purchasing physicians elect the agency’s managers or directly control the trust.
Who controls the money? The carrier controls insurance reserves and claims under its policy; the agency controls producer/administrative operations under parent oversight; the parent Board and executives control the subsidiary as owner; and the public record does not disclose insured-physician governance rights over agency profits or trust management.

Other related taxable entities

EntityPrimary activityOwnershipAMA share of incomeShare of year-end assets
American Medical Assurance CompanyBusiness services / reinsurance100%$101,746$1,588,455
Health2047 Inc.Professional, scientific and technical services100%$1,363,359$49,093,590
Adams Street 1847 Fund LPInvesting99.98%$17,333,816$149,585,249
AMA Services Inc.Holding company - business and personal services100%$34,202,640$47,607,985
AMA Insurance Agency Inc.Insurance brokerage / producerWholly owned per AMANot separately statedNot separately stated
Separation rule: premiums collected for carrier-issued coverage, carrier reserves, agency commissions, parent reimbursements, Foundation revenue and AMPAC receipts are distinct money streams. They are not combined unless an official filing supports the transfer.

Sources: [7] [30] [31] [32] [33] [34] [35] [36] [38] [39] [40]

6Top InfluencersEvidence classified
Directly documented

House of Delegates

Sets policy and elects officers and trustees; this is the strongest formal physician-governance channel.

Directly documented

Board of Trustees

Fiduciary oversight, executive selection, business oversight and subsidiary accountability.

Directly documented

CEO & senior management

Greatest day-to-day operational authority over staff, contracts, finance, advocacy, publishing and business lines.

Directly documented

AMA Insurance management

Pamela T. Moy leads the agency under parent executive and Board oversight; insurance buyers do not thereby gain management authority.

Central entity

American Medical Association

Physician-governed policy organization with substantial licensing, publishing, insurance-agency, advocacy, commercial and investment operations.

Strong inference

CPT licensee ecosystem

Collectively supplies dominant royalty revenue. Hospitals, plans, groups and vendors are documented classes; their shares and top customers are undisclosed.

Directly documented

Outside insurance carriers

Control underwriting, policy terms and claims for carrier-issued products; they pay the agency commission or other product compensation.

Directly documented

Health systems and sponsors

Sponsor physician memberships and can obtain structured participation in health-system policy forums; aggregate financial weight is unknown.

Directly documented

CPT Editorial Panel

Makes coding decisions through a structured process; insurer, hospital and specialty representation is documented.

Unknown

Top commercial counterparty

No public customer list, top-licensee concentration schedule or top insurance-carrier revenue schedule was found.

Required influence conclusions

  • Greatest formal physician influence: the House of Delegates and physician-elected Board.
  • Greatest operational influence: CEO/EVP and senior management, subject to Board oversight and HOD policy.
  • Greatest aggregate financial influence: the CPT/licensing customer ecosystem because royalties dominate revenue; no single hospital, insurer, physician group or vendor can be identified as greatest.
  • Insurance-business control: parent Board/executives control the wholly owned agency; the agency controls producer/administrative work; outside carriers control underwriting and claims; buyers have contractual rights but no direct governance right was found.
  • Institutional policy-access risk: sponsored membership and health-system programming create documented access for organizations, but the evidence does not show that access determines AMA policy outcomes.

Sources: [1] [2] [3] [10] [25] [26] [28] [29] [33] [35] [37]

7Mission Versus ConductAlignment test
Stated commitmentDate / sourceRelevant action or omissionAssessmentConfidence
Promote the art and science of medicine and public healthCurrent missionPublishes JAMA and specialty journals; maintains clinical coding; supports education and public-health initiatives.SupportedHigh
Be physicians’ ally in patient careCurrent organizational claimDocumented advocacy on Medicare payment, prior authorization, physician burnout, corporate practice and workforce.SupportedModerate-high; outcome attribution varies.
Represent physicians with a unified voice2026 Board / HOD materialsConvenes broad society/delegate structure, but public data do not establish support, voting or participation by segment.Partially supportedModerate
Maintain a fair and transparent CPT process2026 CPT materialsOpen meetings, formal comments, conflict rules and reconsideration exist; however, licensing customers and revenue concentration are not publicly disclosed.Partially supportedModerate-high
Public accountabilityFY2024 filingGovernance, compensation, related entities and categories are disclosed; ultimate payer identity and current-year compensation lag.Partially supportedHigh
Ethical leadership in medicineHistorical conductThe final Wilk judgment affirmed an unlawful historical boycott of chiropractors; the conduct largely predated 1980 and policy changed.Historically contradictedHigh for the historical finding; low relevance to current operations without new evidence.
Overall mission finding: Current documented activity is generally aligned with the mission. The strongest unresolved tension is economic dependence on a nationally embedded coding asset combined with limited customer and contract transparency.

Sources: [1] [6] [10] [16] [18] [24]

8Physician and Member RepresentationConstituency test
SegmentEvidence of a formal route or supportWhat remains unknownAssessment
Primary careState and specialty societies participate; Medicare and practice-burden advocacy can benefit primary care.Membership, voting share, policy satisfaction and outcomes specific to primary care.Structural representation; support breadth not fully demonstrated.
Medical, surgical and procedural specialtiesNational specialty societies hold HOD roles; specialty nominees hold many CPT Panel seats.Relative influence and policy satisfaction among specialties.Strong formal representation.
Independent practiceAdvocacy addresses payment, administrative burden, MIPS, consolidation and physician autonomy.Independent-practice membership and measurable benefit.Supported in policy; outcome evidence incomplete.
Hospital-employed physiciansHealth-system programs sponsor individual memberships and access to policymaking.Aggregate system-paid dues and whether system priorities alter member independence.Direct support route; funding/voice ambiguity.
Academic physiciansAcademic and education programs are documented.Membership and governance participation.Formal support present; breadth unknown.
Rural / community physiciansPolicy agenda includes workforce and protection of small/rural practices.Rural representation, participation and outcomes.Partially demonstrated.
Residents, fellows and studentsEligibility, discounted dues, sections and delegate roles are documented.Voting participation and retention into practice.Strong formal inclusion.
Women, early-career, retired and other identity/interest groupsAMA maintains member sections and variable dues categories.Segment-level enrollment, participation, financial contribution and policy outcomes.Formal channels; practical support not assessable from available aggregate data.

Membership denominator problem

The AMA reported more than 290,000 physician and medical-student members in 2024, but that total includes multiple career stages and payment arrangements. 2026 regular-practice dues are $420, while student, trainee, early-career and retired rates are lower. A health-system program can sponsor memberships for all affiliated physicians. Therefore, total membership does not establish the number personally paying dues, voting, participating or represented in governance. [4] [11] [12]

Broad-support conclusion: The public record supports broad formal access to representation, but it does not establish broad, equal or enthusiastic support across physician segments.
9Legal, Regulatory, and Ethical RecordStatus and outcomes
MatterStatus and exact roleFinding / allegationMission relevanceCurrent weight
Wilk v. American Medical Association, 895 F.2d 352 (7th Cir. 1990)Final appellate judgment affirming district court injunction against AMA.Court affirmed that AMA violated Sherman Act §1 through an unlawful historical boycott directed at chiropractors. Conduct largely occurred 1966–1980; the record also described policy changes and settlements.Material historical conflict with ethical leadership and free professional decision-making.High confidence as history; limited evidence of current conduct.
Senate HELP CPT inquiry, 2025Congressional oversight inquiry led by the committee chair; no final agency or judicial action in reviewed materials.Chair alleged abusive monopoly pricing and insufficient transparency; later requested stakeholder information and said there “may be nothing wrong” but answers were needed.Directly relevant to royalty concentration, public standardization and transparency.Material caution, not a finding of wrongdoing.
FY2024 governance controlsSelf-reported Form 990 responses.Conflict-of-interest, whistleblower and document-retention policies reported; 21 of 21 voting members reported independent.Favorable evidence of control framework.Moderate-high; policy existence does not prove effectiveness.
Current enforcement searchReview of official federal and court sources available to this review.No current final federal enforcement order against the AMA itself was identified. This is not proof that no other matter exists.Relevant to current risk.Moderate; scope-limited negative finding.
Legal-language safeguard: The 2025 Senate statements are attributed allegations and oversight requests - not adjudicated facts. The 1990 Wilk decision is a final historical court finding and is presented with its age and remediation context.

Sources: [17] [18] [6]

10Report Card MethodologyNormalized rubric
11Limitations and Unanswered QuestionsVisible caveats

Material limitations

  • Financial lag: detailed parent financials are FY2024; leadership, licensing and product evidence extend through July 2026.
  • Audit status: the review did not obtain a current consolidated audited statement with subsidiary notes, so the Form 990 is not labeled audited.
  • CPT customer opacity: no top-licensee list, customer-class split, contract-value schedule or top-one/top-five concentration was found.
  • Membership opacity: no complete public split of personally paid, physician-group-paid, system-sponsored, insurer-sponsored, trainee, discounted or complimentary membership was found.
  • Ownership opacity: a “physician group” may be independent, hospital-owned, insurer-owned, private-equity-owned or otherwise controlled; public revenue categories do not resolve that distinction.
  • Insurance subsidiary opacity: gross premiums, gross commission revenue, commission rates, carrier payments, expenses, net income, dividends, policy counts and carrier concentration are not publicly separated.
  • Insurance trust opacity: the current trust instrument, trustees, selection process, trustee fees and insured-physician voting rights were not found in public sources reviewed.
  • Schedule R limits: “amount involved” is not necessarily net cash or profit, and combined transaction categories can obscure the exact economic purpose.
  • Representation outcomes: formal access does not prove equal influence or support across specialties, practice types, ownership models, geography or career stage.

Information most likely to change the assessment

  1. Audited consolidated FY2025 statements with subsidiary and segment notes.
  2. CPT and other licensing revenue by customer class, top-one/top-five customers and ownership type.
  3. Membership dues and headcount split by personally paid, group-paid, health-system-paid, payer-sponsored, trainee and complimentary categories.
  4. AMA Insurance Agency standalone statements: premium volume, commissions, revenue, expenses, profit, dividends, carrier contracts and policy counts.
  5. Current AMA Group Insurance Trust instrument, trustee roster, selection authority, fees and policyholder/member governance rights.
  6. Health System Member Program enrollment, sponsored-dues value, credentialed participants and measurable voting/policy outcomes.
  7. Segment-level member enrollment, voting, participation, satisfaction and financial contribution.
Scope: this report evaluates the parent AMA and keeps the Foundation, AMPAC, insurance agency, group insurance trust, reinsurance entity, carriers and other related organizations separate unless an official filing documents a transfer.
12Verification and Review StatusPublication gate
Verification completed: current leaders and major organizational roles were checked against current official sources; financial totals and percentages were independently recalculated; related entities were kept separate; and allegations were not treated as findings.

Publication status: Public review. A last-link check and final editorial approval are required before each release.

Organization review: The reviewed organization did not approve, edit, or veto the score. A factual correction process is described on the Blair Compass methodology and corrections pages.

Scope: Verification is limited to publicly accessible records. Private contracts, nonpublic minutes, sealed proceedings, and undisclosed conflicts are outside the available evidence.

Sources, Methods & Verification · 40 references

Source rule: Primary and official records were preferred. Accounting categories were not converted into payer identities. Related entities were kept separate. Allegations were not treated as findings.

Verification: current leaders and major financial arithmetic were checked for this publication batch. Material corrections and future updates follow the published verification process.

S1. AMA Constitution & BylawsPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/councils/council-constitution-bylaws-ccb/ama-constitution-bylaws
S2. AMA announces Board of Trustees for 2026–2027Primary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/press-center/ama-press-releases/ama-announces-board-trustees-2026-2027
S3. Senior managementPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/about/leadership/senior-management
S4. John Whyte, MD, MPH, selected as the AMA’s new CEOPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/about/leadership/john-whyte-md-mph-selected-ama-s-new-ceo
S5. American Medical Association - Nonprofit ExplorerPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/organizations/360727175
S6. American Medical Association - Form 990 financials, salaries & grantsPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://philanthropy.org/990/report/360727175/american-medical-association
S7. FY2024 Form 990, including Schedule RPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/organizations/360727175/202513159349303536/full
S8. Overview of Coding & Classification SystemsPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.cms.gov/cms-guide-medical-technology-companies-and-other-interested-parties/coding/overview-coding-classification-systems
S9. Internal End User License Agreement Royalty Rates for 2026 and 2027Primary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://compliance.ama-assn.org/hc/en-us/articles/16197630737431-Internal-End-User-License-Agreement-Royalty-Rates-for-2026-and-2027
S10. Purpose of the CPT coding system & CPT Editorial PanelPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/about/cpt-editorial-panel/purpose-cpt-coding-system-cpt-editorial-panel
S11. AMA membership duesPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/membership/member-eligibility-dues/ama-membership-dues
S12. Texas Health Physician Group sponsored AMA membershipPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/amaone/welcome-your-ama-membership-sponsored-texas-health-physician-group
S13. American Medical Association Political Action Committee - committee overviewPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.fec.gov/data/committee/C00000422/
S14. LD-2 Disclosure Form - AMA Q1 2026Primary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://lda.senate.gov/filings/public/filing/53c734ff-782a-4961-8d43-df5c97090b99/print/
S15. AMPACPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/health-care-advocacy/access-care/ampac
S16. July 17, 2026 National Advocacy UpdatePrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/health-care-advocacy/advocacy-update/july-17-2026-national-advocacy-update
S17. Chair Cassidy continues AMA inquiry, seeks stakeholder feedbackGovernment or public record · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.help.senate.gov/rep/newsroom/press/chair-cassidy-continues-ama-inquiry-seeks-stakeholder-feedback
S18. Wilk v. American Medical Association, 895 F.2d 352Primary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/appellate-courts/F2/895/352/46788/
S19. How the AMA Spends Revenue (2024)Supporting or contextual source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://paddockpost.com/2026/05/21/how-the-ama-spends-revenue-2024/
S20. Delegates & federation societiesPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/house-delegates/hod-organization/delegates-federation-societies
S21. AMA names Christy Loebach as chief financial officerPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/press-center/ama-press-releases/ama-names-christy-loebach-chief-financial-officer
S22. AMA names Dr. John Wigneswaran as chief operating officerPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/press-center/ama-press-releases/ama-names-dr-john-wigneswaran-chief-operating-officer
S23. Willie Underwood III, MD, inaugurated as 181st AMA presidentPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/press-center/ama-press-releases/willie-underwood-iii-md-inaugurated-181st-ama-president
S24. CPT Policy on Lobbying and Proper CommunicationsPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/practice-management/cpt/cpt-policy-lobbying-and-proper-communications
S25. CPT licensing frequently asked questionsPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/practice-management/cpt/cpt-licensing-frequently-asked-questions-faqs
S26. AMA Health System Member ProgramPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/amaone/ama-health-system-member-program
S27. Olmsted Medical Center sponsored AMA membershipPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/amaone/welcome-your-ama-membership-sponsored-olmsted-medical-center
S28. Humana and CenterWell physicians sponsored AMA membershipPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/amaone/humana-and-centerwell-physicians
S29. UnitedHealth Group physicians sponsored AMA membershipPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/amaone/unitedhealth-group-physicians
S30. AMA Insurance member benefitsPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/membership/benefits-discounts/ama-insurance-member-benefits
S31. About AMA InsurancePrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://amainsure.com/about-us/
S32. AMA Insurance licensingPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://amainsure.com/licensing/
S33. AMA-sponsored Level Term Life coverage detailsPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://amainsure.com/insurance-products/life-insurance/term-life/term-life-coverage/
S34. About AMA Insurance financial-strategy partnersPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://amainsure.com/financial-strategies/about/
S35. AMA announces partnership with New York LifePrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/press-center/ama-press-releases/ama-announces-new-partnership-new-york-life-insurance
S36. Instructions for Schedule R (Form 990)Primary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.irs.gov/instructions/i990sr
S37. AMA Board of Trustees conflict-of-interest principlesPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ama-assn.org/about/board-trustees/ama-board-trustees-conflict-interest-principles
S38. AMA medical professional liability programPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://amainsure.com/medical-professional-liability-insurance/
S39. AMA-sponsored Disability Income InsurancePrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://amainsure.com/insurance-products/physician-disability-insurance/ama-sponsored-physician-disability-insurance/
S40. Baribeau v. Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company, No. 3:20-cv-01290Supporting or contextual source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/district-courts/connecticut/ctdce/3%3A2020cv01290/140811/25/