Blair CompassBlair Compass Organization IntelligenceWho pays · Who decides · Who benefits · What remains unknown
Organization Evidence Review

American Osteopathic Association

National osteopathic professional membership, advocacy, accreditation, certification, and education organization; 501(c)(3)

As of July 24, 2026United StatesTwelve months ended May 31, 2026Unaudited annual-report data; latest Form 990 covers FY2025Primary constituency: Osteopathic physicians, osteopathic medical students, and the osteopathic profession through a physician-led federation; colleges, programs, and certification candidates are material operational constituencies.

Path A · Quick read

One uniform surface for comparison; detailed evidence is below.

Core comparison profile

Three strongest findings

  1. FY2026 unaudited operating revenue was $35.1 million, led by membership at 37% and certification at 29%.
  2. The House of Delegates is the legislative body; the 28-member Board is administrative and executive; the CEO runs operations.
  3. Public records classify only accreditation, 14%, at a broad institutional payer level; 86% of ultimate payer identity remains unclassified.

Evidence supporting reliance

  • Current governance documents and leaders are public.
  • Advocacy, accreditation, certification, education, and public-health activity substantially track the osteopathic mission.
  • A historical certification-membership tie was permanently decoupled through settlement.

Reasons for caution

  • “Represents 207,158” is a profession-wide reach figure, not an active voting-member count.
  • Membership and certification are major revenue centers with incomplete payer and burden distribution.
  • Corporate sponsor amounts and decision firewalls are not public.

Material unknowns

  • Active, voting, and dues-paying member counts.
  • Individual-versus-organization-paid membership and certification.
  • Top payer concentration and sponsor safeguards across membership, certification, OMED, and other revenue.

Report card

The score summarizes assessed evidence; evidence coverage is reported separately.

Transparency
9/15
Funding independence
NE
Mission alignment
17/20
Governance
11/15
Breadth
7/10
Accountability
7/10
Legal / ethical
8/10
Outcomes
4/5

Official accounting revenue mix

Unaudited annual-report categories. Group and GME membership, certification, accreditation, and conference revenue create distinct payer possibilities that are not disclosed by the accounting labels.

Membership (37.0%)
$12.99M
Certification (29.0%)
$10.18M
Accreditation (14.0%)
$4.91M
OMED (10.0%)
$3.51M
Other (10.0%)
$3.51M
Accounting categoryAmountShare
Membership$12.99M37.00%
Certification$10.18M29.00%
Accreditation$4.91M14.00%
OMED$3.51M10.00%
Other$3.51M10.00%
Total$35.10M100.00%
$35.10MFY2026 operating revenue
$12.99MMembership; 37%
$87.50MNet assets at May 31, 2026

Payer and funding-source visibility

Minimum classified: 14.0%Not allocated by payer/source: 86.0%

Accreditation revenue can be classified broadly as institution-linked. Membership, certification, OMED, and other revenue are not publicly allocated between individuals, employers, programs, sponsors, and other payers.

Identity, alignment, and influence at a glance

Primary constituency: Osteopathic physicians, osteopathic medical students, and the osteopathic profession through a physician-led federation; colleges, programs, and certification candidates are material operational constituencies.

Physician alignment: Role dependent: supportive for osteopathic identity, training, payment, and advocacy; mixed where certification revenue, indirect governance, and payer opacity matter.

Funding model: Membership and certification led, with material institutional accreditation and conference revenue; most ultimate payer identity is unclassified.

Primary influence: House of Delegates and Board formally; CEO and staff operationally; membership, certification, and accreditation constituencies financially.

Executive summary

The American Osteopathic Association is a physician-led national organization combining membership, advocacy, accreditation, certification, education, and public-health functions. Richard Thacker became president on July 18, 2026, and CEO Kathleen Creason leads operations under the Board. The 2026 unaudited annual report shows $35.1 million in revenue, concentrated in membership and certification. Group and GME membership and the mixed individual/institutional nature of certification and accreditation mean the accounting categories cannot be treated as individually paid physician support. Current activity is substantially aligned with osteopathic professional identity, payment, training, workforce, payer policy, and public health. The provisional C grade reflects meaningful governance and mission evidence alongside payer opacity, indirect member participation, certification-related incentives, and incomplete sponsor disclosure.

One sentence: AOA is a physician-governed advocate for osteopathic medicine with substantial mission-aligned work, while active-member participation, ultimate payer identity, and sponsor safeguards remain materially uncertain.

Path B · Detailed evidence review

Every organization uses the same twelve evidence sections and order.

1Identity, Mission, and ScopeFact pattern

What it is

A national 501(c)(3) professional membership organization that also performs advocacy, education, accreditation and certification functions. [12]

What it says

Vision: global leader and unifying home for the osteopathic profession. Mission: advance osteopathic medicine by supporting physicians and students through advocacy, leadership, education, certification, research, innovation, wellness and whole-person care. [2]

Whom it is built to represent

Primarily DOs, osteopathic medical students and the osteopathic profession through physician-led House and Board structures. Medical schools, training programs and certification candidates are also important operational constituencies. [3]

Constituency conceptEvidence-supported answerLimit
Formal constituencyMembers and delegates within an osteopathic federation; the House of Delegates is the legislative body.The public record does not establish one-member-one-vote participation.
Paying constituencyIndividual and group members, certification candidates, accredited institutions/programs, OMED participants, sponsors and other customers appear within revenue-generating activities.Most ultimate payer classes and concentration are not disclosed.
Operational constituencyDOs/students, osteopathic affiliates, certifying boards, colleges/programs and organizational partners.Relative influence by segment cannot be quantified.
BeneficiariesDOs, students, trainees, medical schools, patients and communities affected by advocacy, standards and public-health work.Benefit does not establish governance authority or payment.
ReachAOA reports 207,158 DOs and osteopathic medical students in the profession.This is not a publicly disclosed active, dues-paying or voting membership count.
Conclusion: The public record supports a physician-led osteopathic professional association, not an employer association. Its accreditation and certification roles nevertheless create material institutional and customer constituencies alongside individual physicians.
2Leadership and Decision AuthorityCurrent roles

Who gets a formal vote?

The House of Delegates is the legislative body and elects officers and trustees. Delegates are selected through divisional and specialty structures. [3]

Who administers?

The 28-member Board of Trustees is the administrative and executive body and implements policy and strategy. [3] [4]

Who runs day to day?

The Board appoints the CEO, CFO and General Counsel. CEO Kathleen S. Creason leads operations and strategic execution. [3] [6]

LeaderCurrent roleTenure / backgroundPublic compensationEvidence
Richard R. Thacker, DO, MACOIPresidentInstalled July 18, 2026; internist, educator and former state-association leader.Current presidential compensation not yet available. FY2025 trustee compensation reported as $3,450.[4] [5] [12]
Bruce A. Wolf, DOPresident-electNamed July 2026; radiologist and academic leader; scheduled to begin presidency July 2027.FY2025 trustee compensation reported as $2,550.[4] [5] [12]
Teresa A. Hubka, DOTreasurerCurrent elected officer; OB-GYN and prior AOA president.Current treasurer compensation not yet reported for the new term.[4]
Kathleen S. Creason, MBACEO / Board secretaryBoard-appointed CEO since July 11, 2023; prior AOiA and state-association executive.FY2025: $513,238 reportable compensation plus $47,034 other compensation.[6] [12]
Dennis RizzoCFOAppointed officer named in FY2025 filing.FY2025: $251,681 reportable compensation plus $34,302 other compensation.[12]
Julie KulovitsGeneral CounselAppointed legal officer named in FY2025 filing.FY2025: $258,410 reportable compensation plus $23,874 other compensation.[12]

Confidence: high for formal authority and current titles; moderate for practical influence beyond documented roles. No public evidence was found that a single funder or commercial partner controls policy.

3Financial SupportAccounting view
$35.1M
FY2026 operating revenue
Unaudited · annual report
$35.0M
FY2026 operating expense
Unaudited · annual report
$114.5M
Assets at May 31, 2026
Unaudited · annual report
$87.5M
Net assets at May 31, 2026
Unaudited · annual report

Statement of financial position

May 31, 2026Amount
Cash and investments$94,239,731
Building and fixed assets$17,153,096
Other assets$3,127,401
Total assets$114,520,228
Deferred revenue$15,192,271
Accounts payable and accrued expenses$11,832,781
Total liabilities$27,025,052
Unrestricted net assets$75,813,002
Temporarily restricted net assets$11,682,174
Total net assets$87,495,176

Latest Form 990 snapshot

Fiscal year ended May 2025AmountShare
Total revenue$35,774,516100%
Program-service revenue$32,429,09990.6%
Contributions$887,4112.5%
Investment income$2,071,8525.8%
Total expenses$35,070,149 -
Net income$704,367 -
Net assets$81,503,076 -
Plain-language conclusion: The reports show how money was recorded, but not who supplied most of it. Category concentration - membership plus certification at 66% - is documented; payer concentration is not.

Advocacy spending context: The FY2026 annual report assigns 8% of operating expenses ($2.8M) to Government Relations, a broader operating category than legally reportable lobbying. AOA’s membership FAQ estimates 3.91% of dues is used for lobbying. [1] [11]

4Payer Identity and Unknown FundingPayer guardrail
Revenue categoryReported amountWhat public records establishWhat they do not establish
Membership · 37%$12.987MAOA receives membership revenue; regular, discounted, group and GME pathways exist.Individual-paid vs employer/institution-paid shares; top payers; active dues-paying member count.
Certification · 29%$10.179MCertification is a major revenue-generating service.Candidate-paid vs reimbursed shares; payer concentration; margins by board.
Accreditation · 14%$4.914MAn institutional payer class is identifiable at a broad level.Which colleges/programs paid how much; concentration among institutions.
OMED · 10%$3.510MConference-related revenue exists.Registration, exhibits, sponsorship and other components; ultimate payer classes.
Other · 10%$3.510MA residual accounting category exists.Component sources and payer identity.

Individual physicians

Unknown

Regular dues are published, but aggregate personally paid dues are not.

Hospitals / health systems

Unknown

Group membership is available, but aggregate health-system payments are not disclosed.

Physician groups / joint ventures

Unknown

No reliable public aggregate was found.

Industry / commercial partners

Relationships documented; amounts unknown

Pfizer, Astellas, Merck and Sanofi are publicly named partners; amounts and firewalls were not found.

Government

Unknown as a payer class

Advocacy and accreditation recognition are documented, but a current aggregate government funding figure was not found.

Contributions

2.5% of FY2025 revenue

Low charitable-gift share does not establish low customer or program-payer concentration.

Top-one and top-three payer concentration: unknown. Largest identifiable payer class: institutional accreditation payers at 14%, at broad class level only. Confidence: high that payer identity is not publicly classifiable; low regarding any inference about actual independence.

5Related Organizations and Money FlowsEntity separation
Entity / functionLegal or operational statusRelationshipFinancial treatment in this review
American Osteopathic Association501(c)(3) public charity / professional organizationParent organization reviewed here.AOA operating statements and Form 990 used.
Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA)AOA accrediting commissionRecognized nationwide by the U.S. Department of Education. [13]Accreditation revenue/expense treated as AOA activity.
AOA certifying boardsAOA certification functionsProvide specialty board certification.Certification revenue/expense treated as AOA activity.
American Osteopathic Information Association (AOiA)Separate 501(c)(6) business league / trade associationSupports technology, physician services and OPAC-related activity. [19] [28]AOiA revenue and assets are not combined with AOA.
Osteopathic Political Action Committee (OPAC)Separate federal political committee connected to AOiAReceives political contributions and makes political disbursements. [20]Not combined with AOA operating revenue or expenses.
American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF)Separate charitable foundationJoint corporate partnership page with AOA; funds scholarships and initiatives. [18] [21]AOF gifts and assets are not automatically AOA revenue.
Key safeguard: Access, affiliation, sponsorship or a related-organization relationship is evidence of a relationship - not proof of control. No funds were combined unless an official AOA record treated them as AOA activity.
6Top InfluencersEvidence classified
Person / institution / relationshipInfluence classificationEvidence-supported basisBoundary
House of Delegates and constituent affiliatesDirectly documentedLegislative authority; elects officers and trustees; approves policy and dues-related actions.Delegate selection and participation rates are not publicly quantified in this review.
Board of TrusteesDirectly documentedAdministrative and executive body; appoints key executives.Individual trustee influence beyond formal votes is not inferred.
CEO and executive staffDirectly documentedOperational authority, program execution, finance, legal, membership and government relations.Staff authority remains accountable to Board structure.
Certification and accreditation customersStrong inferenceTogether account for 43% of FY2026 revenue and are core mission functions.Revenue dependence does not prove policy control; payer concentration is unknown.
Individual and organization-paid membersDirectly documented relationshipMembership is the largest revenue category and members participate through governance channels.The split between individual and organization-paid support is unknown.
Pfizer, Astellas, Merck and SanofiDirectly documented relationshipNamed AOA/AOF corporate partners.Amounts, restrictions and decision firewalls were not found; control is not established.
AOiA / OPACDirectly documented relationshipAffiliated ecosystem and separate political activity.Separate legal and financial entities; political spending is not AOA operating spending.
Unnamed hospitals, insurers, PBMs or manufacturersExcludedNo sufficiently specific payer or control evidence found.Possible relationships are not listed as influencers without evidence.
7Mission Versus ConductAlignment test
Stated commitmentRelevant action or omissionAssessmentConfidence / evidence
Support physicians through advocacyAOA reports advocacy contributing to a 2.5% Medicare payment increase for 2026, telehealth extension, Lorna Breen Act renewal and workforce funding; DO Day reached 321 congressional offices.SupportedModerate-high; outcomes documented, but multi-actor policy wins cannot be attributed solely to AOA. [1] [14]
Advance distinctive osteopathic practiceSecured report language encouraging CMS support for osteopathic manipulative treatment and challenged an ABIM program-director attestation policy.SupportedHigh that actions occurred; legal merits remain unresolved. [15] [24] [25]
Support physician practice and payer fairnessPrivate-payer advocacy contributed to postponement of a BCBS Michigan modifier-25 policy.SupportedModerate; specific outcome documented, broader national effect not established. [16]
Promote public healthPublic statements support routine and emergent immunization and evidence-based vaccine policy.SupportedHigh for stated position; downstream outcome not assessed. [17]
Member accountabilityGovernance documents, current leaders, dues rates, annual report and tax filing are public.Partially supportedHigh; active member count, delegate participation, payer classes and sponsor amounts remain undisclosed.
Certification as professional serviceA 2018 settlement permanently decoupled certification from mandatory AOA membership and provided additional relief.Historical inconsistency remediatedHigh; allegations were not adjudicated and AOA denied wrongdoing. [22] [23]
Mission-to-action conclusion: The documented record is generally aligned with AOA’s mission. The strongest present limitation is not a proven contradiction; it is incomplete public visibility into who pays, who participates and how commercial support is insulated from decisions.
8Physician and Member RepresentationConstituency test

Role-based physician alignment

Physician roleLabelStrongest supportStrongest contrary fact / limitationConfidence
Individual DOMixedBroad advocacy, education and DO recognition.Indirect governance and unknown individual-vs-organization payer mix.Moderate
Employed DOMixedPayment, noncompete, well-being and burden advocacy.Employer-paid membership may create institutional paying constituencies; independent physician input is not quantified.Moderate
Independent / owner DOMixedPayer-policy and payment advocacy; practice resources.Comprehensive ownership/consolidation agenda not demonstrated.Moderate
Physician executive / group leaderSupportiveNational advocacy, accreditation, data, governance and leadership infrastructure.Institutional benefit does not equal benefit to every employed physician.Moderate
Primary care DOSupportivePayment, telehealth, workforce and rural/underserved priorities.Specialty representation among active voters is not disclosed.Moderate
Specialist / procedural DOMixedCertification, credentialing and payment advocacy.Certification is a major revenue center and its payer/burden distribution is incomplete.Moderate
Rural / community DOSupportiveWorkforce, telehealth and underserved-care advocacy.Segment-specific outcome data are limited.Moderate
Academic DOMixedAccreditation, research, training and program-director advocacy.Institutional accreditation incentives can differ from faculty or trainee interests.Moderate
Trainee / early-career DOSupportiveDedicated Board seats, low-cost membership, training and credentialing advocacy.Limited proportional governance seats; program-paid participation may blur payer identity.Moderate-high

Issue-specific physician alignment

IssueLabelAffected segmentEvidence basisConfidence
Payment and financial sustainabilitySupportiveBroad physician populationMedicare payment, laboratory and payer advocacy.High for action; moderate for attribution
Administrative burden / prior authorization / payer policySupportivePracticing physiciansPrivate-payer resources and documented modifier-25 intervention.Moderate
Employment mobility and noncompetesSupportiveEmployed physiciansSpecific state-level advocacy reported in annual report.Moderate
Certification and professional autonomyMixedBoard-certified DOs and traineesCurrent defense of osteopathic certification pathways; historical membership tie was remedied.Moderate-high
Independent-practice viabilityMixedIndependent physiciansPayment/payer work helps; comprehensive consolidation or ownership agenda not demonstrated.Moderate-low
Education and trainingSupportiveStudents, trainees, educatorsAccreditation, CME, GME and program-director advocacy.High
Scope, licensure and credentialingSupportive for DO recognitionDOs and traineesNational/state advocacy and ABIM litigation.Moderate-high
Rural and underserved careSupportiveRural/community physicians and patientsWorkforce, telehealth and training priorities.Moderate
Workforce well-beingSupportivePhysicians and traineesLorna Breen Act and wellness programming.Moderate
Practice ownership and consolidationNot demonstratedIndependent and employed physiciansNo sufficiently comprehensive current policy record found in reviewed sources.Low
Patient care and public healthSupportivePhysicians and patientsWhole-person care, immunization, OMT and public-health positions.Moderate-high
9Legal, Regulatory, and Ethical RecordStatus and outcomes
MatterAOA roleStatus and resultMission relevanceAssessment
Talone et al. v. AOA
D.N.J. No. 1:16-cv-04644
DefendantCourt approved settlement Dec. 3, 2018. AOA permanently decoupled board certification from membership, provided fee/dues/CME relief and a private-practice task force. AOA denied liability; no fault was adjudicated. [22] [23]Certification, competition, member choice and governance.Material historical concern · remediated
AOA et al. v. ABIM
N.D. Ill. No. 1:25-cv-14691
PlaintiffJuly 20, 2026 order dismissed Counts I–III without prejudice; Count IV monopolization claim survived the motion to dismiss. Pleading stage; no merits finding. [24] [25]DO credentialing, competition and program-director autonomy.Current advocacy litigation · unresolved
COCA recognitionAccrediting organizationU.S. Department of Education recognizes COCA nationwide for osteopathic medical education accreditation; recognition record current through 2026. [13]Educational standards and public accountability.Favorable regulatory evidence
FY2025 Schedule L indicatorTax filerIRS-derived summary indicates reportable interested-person transactions on Schedule L. Transaction-specific facts were not fully extracted for this review.Conflict disclosure and related-party transparency.Disclosure flag · no misconduct inference
Code of EthicsPublisher / policy bodyPublic Code of Ethics page states last update July 24, 2016. [26]Ethical standards and policy freshness.Freshness limitation
Legal integrity rule: Allegations are not findings. The Talone resolution is presented as a settlement with structural relief and denial of fault. The ABIM case is presented as a current pleading-stage case, not a victory on the merits.
10Report Card MethodologyNormalized rubric

The Evidence & Accountability Grade follows the supplied Blair Compass rubric. It is not a moral verdict, endorsement, accusation or physician-support score.

DimensionWeightScoreConfidenceRationale
Financial transparency and source identification159ModerateTimely totals and category mix; weak ultimate-payer, sponsor and membership-payment disclosure.
Funding independence and concentration risk15NELowUltimate payer concentration cannot be assessed; this dimension is excluded rather than scored down.
Mission-to-action alignment2017HighSubstantial documented advocacy, education, certification and public-health action.
Physician/member governance and representation1511HighClear physician-led House/Board structure; indirect delegate model and participation data gaps.
Breadth across physician segments107ModerateBroad programs and advocacy; uneven segment-level outcome and representation data.
Leadership, conflict management and accountability107ModerateClear roles and policies; limited sponsor firewall and transaction-level disclosure.
Legal, regulatory and ethical record108Moderate-highFavorable accreditation recognition; historical settlement remediated; no severe current finding.
Outcomes and public accountability54ModerateMultiple documented outcomes and public reporting, with attribution limits.
Calculation: 63 supported points ÷ 85 supported possible points × 100 = 74.1, reported as 74/C. Weighted evidence coverage is 83%. Overall confidence is moderate; the grade is provisional because payer and participation disclosures could materially change it.

Grade bands: A 90–100; B 80–89; C 70–79; D 60–69; F below 60; NE insufficient evidence.

11Limitations and Unanswered QuestionsVisible caveats

Important unanswered questions

  • How many active, dues-paying, voting members does AOA have, by physician segment?
  • What share of dues is paid personally versus by groups, hospitals, medical schools or training programs?
  • Who pays certification fees after employer reimbursement?
  • What are aggregate sponsor amounts, restrictions and content/policy firewalls?
  • What are top-one and top-three payer concentrations?
  • How are delegates selected, and what share of eligible physicians vote or participate?
  • What is the transaction-specific context behind the FY2025 Schedule L indicator?
  • How does policy adoption differ by primary care, specialty, employment, rural and trainee segments?

What would materially change the assessment?

  • An independently audited 2026 financial statement with detailed program-service notes.
  • A one-page ultimate-payer matrix distinguishing individual-, employer-, institution-, industry- and government-funded activity.
  • Active-member, voter and delegate-participation counts by segment.
  • Aggregate corporate sponsorship amounts and formal independence safeguards.
  • Board and House voting records on major physician-practice issues.
  • Updated public conflict disclosures and a refreshed Code of Ethics.
  • Final merits rulings or settlement terms in the ABIM litigation.
  • Segment-level outcome data showing effects on employed, independent, primary care, rural, academic and trainee physicians.
Limit of this review: Absence of public disclosure is not evidence of misconduct. “Unknown” means the information was not publicly available or was not found in the reviewed record as of July 24, 2026.
12Verification and Review StatusPublication gate
Verification completed: current leaders and major organizational roles were checked against current official sources; financial totals and percentages were independently recalculated; related entities were kept separate; and allegations were not treated as findings.

Publication status: Public review. A last-link check and final editorial approval are required before each release.

Organization review: The reviewed organization did not approve, edit, or veto the score. A factual correction process is described on the Blair Compass methodology and corrections pages.

Scope: Verification is limited to publicly accessible records. Private contracts, nonpublic minutes, sealed proceedings, and undisclosed conflicts are outside the available evidence.

Sources, Methods & Verification · 28 references

Source rule: Primary and official records were preferred. Accounting categories were not converted into payer identities. Related entities were kept separate. Allegations were not treated as findings.

Verification: current leaders and major financial arithmetic were checked for this publication batch. Material corrections and future updates follow the published verification process.

S1. AOA 2026 Annual ReportPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/AOA-2026-Annual-Report.pdf
S2. AOA Strategic Plan 2026–2029Primary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/about/leadership/aoa-governance-documents/strategic-plan/
S3. AOA Constitution and BylawsPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/aoa-constitution-and-bylaws.pdf
S4. AOA Board of TrusteesPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/about/leadership/board-of-trustees/
S5. Richard R. Thacker installed as 130th AOA presidentPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/2026/07/18/richard-r-thacker-do-macoi-installed-as-130th-president-of-the-american-osteopathic-association/
S6. AOA selects Kathleen S. Creason as CEOPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/2023/07/11/aoa-selects-kathleen-creason-mba-as-next-ceo/
S7. 2025 Osteopathic Medical Profession ReportPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/about/aoa-statistics/
S8. AOA membership dues ratesPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/about/aoa-membership/dues-rates/
S9. AOA group membershipsPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/about/aoa-membership/group-memberships/
S10. AOA GME program membershipPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/about/aoa-membership/gme-program-membership/
S11. AOA membership FAQPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/about/aoa-membership/membership-faq/
S12. IRS Form 990 data for AOA, FY ended May 2025Filing database or rendering · Accessed July 24, 2026https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/organizations/362170786
S13. U.S. Department of Education institutional accrediting agenciesGovernment or public record · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.ed.gov/laws-and-policy/higher-education-laws-and-policy/college-accreditation/institutional-accrediting-agencies
S14. DO Day 2026: Osteopathic advocacy in actionPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/2026/04/02/do-day-2026-osteopathic-advocacy-in-action/
S15. AOA secures language for greater access to OMTPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/2026/02/12/aoa-secures-language-for-greater-access-to-omt-in-funding-bill/
S16. BCBS Michigan postpones modifier-25 policyPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/2026/04/17/blue-cross-blue-shield-of-michigan-postpones-modifier-25-policy-in-response-to-osteopathic-advocacy/
S17. AOA vaccine-policy statementPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/2025/06/12/aoa-responds-to-removal-of-cdc-vaccine-committee-members/
S18. AOA/AOF corporate sponsorship opportunitiesPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/about/corporate-sponsorship-opportunities/
S19. American Osteopathic Information AssociationSupporting or contextual source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.aoiassn.org/
S20. OPAC committee profileGovernment or public record · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.fec.gov/data/committee/C00113803/
S21. American Osteopathic FoundationSupporting or contextual source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://aof.org/
S22. Talone et al. v. AOA, final settlement approval opinionSupporting or contextual source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/district-courts/new-jersey/njdce/1:2016cv04644/335951/109/
S23. AOA statement on Talone settlementPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/2018/07/27/american-osteopathic-association-details-settlement-agreement-in-class-action-lawsuit/
S24. AOA ABIM lawsuit information pagePrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/about/advocacy/abim-lawsuit/
S25. AOA et al. v. ABIM, memorandum opinion and orderSupporting or contextual source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/district-courts/illinois/ilndce/1:2025cv14691/490890/49/
S26. AOA Code of EthicsPrimary or official source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://osteopathic.org/about/leadership/aoa-governance-documents/code-of-ethics/
S27. AOA Form 990 structured governance profileFiling database or rendering · Accessed July 24, 2026https://philanthropy.org/990/report/362170786/american-osteopathic-association
S28. IRS Form 990 data for AOiA, FY ended May 2025Filing database or rendering · Accessed July 24, 2026https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/organizations/364340931