Blair CompassBlair Compass Organization IntelligenceWho pays · Who decides · Who benefits · What remains unknown
Organization Evidence Review

Group Practice Improvement Network

Medical-group learning and improvement network

As of July 24, 2026United StatesNo reliable standalone current fiscal statement locatedFinancial identity and hosting arrangements not fully publicPrimary constituency: Large multispecialty medical groups and their leaders, clinicians, and improvement teams.

Path A · Quick read

One uniform surface for comparison; detailed evidence is below.

Preliminary network profile - not ranked

Three strongest findings

  1. GPIN describes a long-running nonprofit learning network and maintains current programming.
  2. Current membership categories and prices are visible, but revenue and payer totals are not.
  3. Henry Ford handles payments and staffing infrastructure, while HealthPartners has provided CME; these relationships do not by themselves prove control.

Evidence supporting reliance

  • Current programs align with the shared-learning mission.
  • Member groups, rates, committees, and payment routes are public.
  • External CME and sponsor records corroborate active programming.

Reasons for caution

  • No standalone audited financials, total revenue, EIN confirmation, or payer schedule was established.
  • Public leadership and authority materials are incomplete.
  • Bylaws, votes, conflicts, host terms, and measured outcomes are not public.

Material unknowns

  • Who supplies the money and at what concentration.
  • Who has final budget, staffing, contract, and policy authority.
  • Which physician segments vote, participate, and benefit.

Report card

The score summarizes assessed evidence; evidence coverage is reported separately.

Transparency
7/15
Funding independence
NE
Mission alignment
18/20
Governance
11/15
Breadth
7/10
Accountability
7/10
Legal / ethical
NE
Outcomes
3/5

Official accounting revenue mix

No valid standalone accounting mix is available.
Not reportedLatest reported revenue
Not reportedLatest reported expenses
Not reportedNet assets / reserve context

Payer and funding-source visibility

Ultimate payer percentages are not calculable.
Membership prices, member organizations, conference activity, and payment routes are public, but total revenue, payer schedule, host terms, and funder concentration are not. A percentage payer chart would be speculative.

Identity, alignment, and influence at a glance

Primary constituency: Large multispecialty medical groups and their leaders, clinicians, and improvement teams.

Physician alignment: Preliminary primary-care network profile; physician support and financial scale are incompletely documented.

Funding model: Sparse public financial information; payer mix not adequately established.

Primary influence: See the detailed authority and influence analysis.

Executive summary

GPIN appears to be an active learning and improvement network for large multispecialty groups, supported by membership fees, conferences, host infrastructure, and collaborative activity. The public record establishes current programs, member organizations, committee leaders, pricing, and payment routes, but not a standalone financial identity, complete governing authority, payer concentration, or outcome framework. The indicative C-equivalent score is therefore not eligible for peer ranking. GPIN is best presented as a preliminary network profile until bylaws, financial statements, host agreements, conflict disclosures, and segment-level participation data are available.

One sentence: GPIN appears useful as a collaborative learning network, but financial identity, final authority, and physician-segment accountability remain too unclear for a ranked review.

Path B · Detailed evidence review

Every organization uses the same twelve evidence sections and order.

1Identity, Mission, and ScopeFact pattern

Organization type: Medical-group learning and improvement network

Primary constituency: Large multispecialty medical groups and their leaders, clinicians, and improvement teams.

Mission: Support shared learning, performance improvement, and collaborative problem-solving among group practices.

Scale: A 2026 pricing guide lists 77 organizations, including 48 Prime and 29 Standard entries; payment status and dollars are not published.

2Leadership and Decision AuthorityCurrent roles
LeaderCurrent roleAuthority context
Jonathan Nasser, MD, MBASteering committee chairNetwork governance
Beth Averbeck, MDProgram planning chairProgram governance
Lindsay GieseExecutive directorOperational leadership
Decision-rights rule: Formal titles do not automatically reveal operational control. The review separates elected governance, board authority, executive execution, member votes, and affiliate authority.
3Financial SupportAccounting view

Period: No reliable standalone current fiscal statement located
Status: Financial identity and hosting arrangements not fully public

Accounting categories are presented exactly as reported.

Not publicly establishedLatest reported revenue or operating income
Not publicly establishedLatest reported expenses
Not publicly establishedLatest reported net assets / reserve context
No defensible standalone chart.
Membership prices, member organizations, conference activity, and payment routes are public, but total revenue, payer schedule, host terms, and funder concentration are not. A percentage payer chart would be speculative.
4Payer Identity and Unknown FundingPayer guardrail
Payer-class percentages cannot be calculated responsibly.
Membership prices, member organizations, conference activity, and payment routes are public, but total revenue, payer schedule, host terms, and funder concentration are not. A percentage payer chart would be speculative.
Guardrail: An accounting category is not the same thing as an ultimate payer. No physician-versus-hospital pie is shown unless mutually exclusive payer classes can be supported.
5Related Organizations and Money FlowsEntity separation
Entity or relationshipRelationship typeWhy it matters
Henry Ford HealthPayment and staffing infrastructureOperational support is documented; control terms are not.
HealthPartnersCME collaboratorProgram relationship does not establish financial or governance control.

Related entities, foundations, PACs, trusts, networks, and LLCs remain financially and legally separate unless a documented transfer is included in the reviewed organization’s accounts.

6Top InfluencersEvidence classified
InfluencerEvidence classificationEvidence-supported relevance
Member medical groupsDirectly documentedSupply participants and practical agenda.
Steering and planning committeesDirectly documentedShape program activity.
Host institutionsDirectly documented operational relationshipPayment, staffing, and CME functions create practical influence; contract terms are unknown.

Interpretation: A documented relationship may create influence or incentives; it does not by itself establish control, misconduct, or improper capture.

7Mission Versus ConductAlignment test
Mission or public commitmentAlignment assessmentDocumented action or tension
Shared learning and collaborativesAlignedCurrent programs match mission.
Physician voicePartially demonstratedPhysicians hold committee roles, but voting rights and participation rates are unknown.
Financial transparencyNot demonstratedNo standalone fiscal record was found.
8Physician and Member RepresentationConstituency test
Physician or member segmentEvidence-supported assessment
Medical-group executivesStrong practical fit
Employed physiciansIndirect participation through groups
Independent physiciansNot a clearly documented constituency
Rural/community physiciansUnknown
TraineesUnknown
Membership-count rule: Total membership does not prove equal participation, voting power, financial contribution, or benefit across segments.
9Legal, Regulatory, and Ethical RecordStatus and outcomes

Legal, regulatory, and ethical record

No material final adverse enforcement finding was identified in the reviewed sources. The central concern is organizational transparency, not a documented legal violation.

Outcome accountability

Program activity is visible, but independent measures of impact, participation, and benefit are limited.

10Report Card MethodologyNormalized rubric

Normalized score: 71/100 (C). Raw evaluated points: 53/75. Evidence completeness: 59%.

DimensionScoreGradeInterpretation
Financial Transparency and Source Identification7/15F47% of dimension maximum
Funding Independence and Concentration RiskNENENot evaluated
Mission-to-Action Alignment18/20A90% of dimension maximum
Physician or Member Governance and Representation11/15C73% of dimension maximum
Breadth of Support Across Physician Segments7/10C70% of dimension maximum
Leadership, Conflict Management, and Accountability7/10C70% of dimension maximum
Legal, Regulatory, and Ethical RecordNENENot evaluated
Outcomes and Public Accountability3/5D60% of dimension maximum
Why two percentages? The normalized score summarizes performance on evaluated dimensions. Evidence completeness separately measures how much of the desired evidence was sufficiently current and documented. They are intentionally not the same number.

Read the complete standardized methodology.

11Limitations and Unanswered QuestionsVisible caveats
  • No standalone financial statement or clear EIN record.
  • Host contracts and final authority are unknown.
  • No public bylaws or complete conflict register.
  • Evidence completeness is below the publication ranking threshold.

Information most likely to change this assessment: current audited financials, mutually exclusive payer-class schedules, top-funder concentration, current bylaws and conflict records, segment-level participation, and independently validated outcomes.

12Verification and Review StatusPublication gate
Verification completed: current leaders and major organizational roles were checked against current official sources; financial totals and percentages were independently recalculated; related entities were kept separate; and allegations were not treated as findings.

Publication status: Public review. A last-link check and final editorial approval are required before each release.

Editorial independence: The reviewed organization did not approve, edit, or veto the findings or score. Factual corrections may be submitted through the published corrections process.

Scope: Verification is limited to publicly accessible records. Private contracts, nonpublic minutes, sealed proceedings, and undisclosed conflicts are outside the available evidence.

Sources, Methods & Verification · 23 references

Source rule: Primary and official records were preferred. Accounting categories were not converted into payer identities. Related entities were kept separate. Allegations were not treated as findings.

Verification: current leaders and major financial arithmetic were checked for this publication batch. Material corrections and future updates follow the published verification process.

S1. https://www.gpin.org/Official organization source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.gpin.org/
S2. https://www.gpin.org/member_groupsOfficial organization source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.gpin.org/member_groups
S3. https://www.gpin.org/committeesOfficial organization source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.gpin.org/committees
S4. https://www.gpin.org/collaborative_groupsOfficial organization source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.gpin.org/collaborative_groups
S5. https://www.henryford.com/calendar/medical-education/gpin-new-orleans/gpin-conferenceSecondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.henryford.com/calendar/medical-education/gpin-new-orleans/gpin-conference
S6. https://www.henryford.com/calendar/medical-education/gpin-membership-dues/gpin-groupSecondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.henryford.com/calendar/medical-education/gpin-membership-dues/gpin-group
S7. https://www.henryford.com/calendar/medical-education/gpin-membership-dues/prime-individualSecondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.henryford.com/calendar/medical-education/gpin-membership-dues/prime-individual
S8. https://www.henryford.com/calendar/medical-education/gpin-membership-dues/standard-individualSecondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.henryford.com/calendar/medical-education/gpin-membership-dues/standard-individual
S9. https://www.gpin.org/paymentOfficial organization source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.gpin.org/payment
S10. https://henryford.referrals.selectminds.com/jobs/sr-administrative-secretary-group-practice-improvement-network-full-time-36hrs-days-remote-124516Secondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://henryford.referrals.selectminds.com/jobs/sr-administrative-secretary-group-practice-improvement-network-full-time-36hrs-days-remote-124516
S11. https://cme.healthpartners.com/content/group-practice-improvement-networkSecondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://cme.healthpartners.com/content/group-practice-improvement-network
S12. https://cme.healthpartners.com/content/group-practice-improvement-network-virtual-sessionsSecondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://cme.healthpartners.com/content/group-practice-improvement-network-virtual-sessions
S13. https://insights.vitalworklife.com/events/group-practice-improvement-network-gpin-annual-conference-2024Secondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://insights.vitalworklife.com/events/group-practice-improvement-network-gpin-annual-conference-2024
S14. https://pattillmanfoundation.org/leadership/jonathan-nasser/Secondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://pattillmanfoundation.org/leadership/jonathan-nasser/
S15. https://www.healthpartners.com/knowledgeexchange/display/person-Averbeck-B-MSecondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.healthpartners.com/knowledgeexchange/display/person-Averbeck-B-M
S16. https://www.henryford.com/about/culture/history/milestonesSecondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.henryford.com/about/culture/history/milestones
S17. https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/api/Nonprofit filing database or mirror · Accessed July 24, 2026https://projects.propublica.org/nonprofits/api/
S18. https://www.gpin.org/documents/gpin-membershipOfficial organization source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.gpin.org/documents/gpin-membership
S19. https://apps.irs.gov/app/eos/Government or court record · Accessed July 24, 2026https://apps.irs.gov/app/eos/
S20. https://www.fec.gov/data/committees/Government or court record · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.fec.gov/data/committees/
S21. https://lda.senate.gov/system/public/Government or court record · Accessed July 24, 2026https://lda.senate.gov/system/public/
S22. https://www.courtlistener.com/Public-record research source · Accessed July 24, 2026https://www.courtlistener.com/
S23. https://cofs.lara.state.mi.us/SearchApi/Search/SearchSecondary context or corroboration · Accessed July 24, 2026https://cofs.lara.state.mi.us/SearchApi/Search/Search